CMDBuild Forum

Installing OpenMaint from scratch

I am not exactly a newbie when it comes to Linux, having used it since RedHat 5 in the late 90's. 

However, I am by no means an expert.  It's really just a tool and a way to avoid ongoing overhead. (e.g. "Micro$oft")

After much research, I decided that OpenMaint was the program I wanted to use to manage my maintenance issues in my office and at home.

At first I was not worried about the lack of good, detailed instructions because I often find myself melding different instructions from different people in order to get what I want.

Boy was I wrong!

It took 3 separate runs at installing it, many hours each, to even get it to come up and run.  I still have not really started using it, but I took detailed notes during my attempts and have reduced them down to something manageable.    These instructions are intended for someone who is, like me, familiar with Linux but is not a power user.   If I can figure out how to attach the text file to this forum, I will do so.  Otherwise I will add the notes as a post.

I installed it on clean CentOS 7 VM under XEN, so I even have a complete OVA image file available with the results of my install.  I don't have the bandwidth or a place to host a file that large, but if someone wanted to host it, I would be happy to provide it.  (The compressed image is about 4GB.)

Ken

You can upload an attachment to the forum post.
Thank you.
CMDBuild Team

It would be amazing if you could upload your notes. I've been trying to install Openmaint for my work for way too long and am getting frustrated! 

Previously Ken Malm wrote:

I am not exactly a newbie when it comes to Linux, having used it since RedHat 5 in the late 90's. 

However, I am by no means an expert.  It's really just a tool and a way to avoid ongoing overhead. (e.g. "Micro$oft")

After much research, I decided that OpenMaint was the program I wanted to use to manage my maintenance issues in my office and at home.